I’m the Ref!! with Gavin Twattwell.

There is only one thing I could have talked about this weekend and that is the incident at Stamford Bridge and the Sending off of Gabriel.

First of all I have to say that the Ref, Mike Dean has got it dead right.  I have a lot of time for Mike Dean, as I think he has that one attribute that not all referee’s have.  He has the ability to make sure the focus is not on the overpaid footballer’s, no he makes sure the public know that the most important person on the football pitch is, the ref!!

Being a former top flight referee, I know how hard it is to achieve this as an official.

I remember first working with Dean when he was just an up and coming linesman.  I could tell straight away that this boy was going to go far.  I mean you can’t teach that level of smugness, self importance and arrogance.  He reminds me a lot of myself in some ways.  No, that sort of stuff you are born with.  Mike Dean has a natural talent, they don’t teach you that kind of thing at the George Courtney school of refereeing in Spennymoor, that is for sure.

carrott

Is it Mike Dean or is it Jasper Carrott?

halsey

Halsey was a scream!!

My only problem with Mike Dean is that he looks a bit like Jasper Carrott.  The first time I meet Mike I expecetd him to speak in a strong Brummy accent, luckily he didn’t.  Mike actually comes from the Wirrall so after about 5 minutes of talking to him he begins to sound like one of the scousers out of Harry Enfield.  In the early days Dermott Gallagher always used to try and make him say “calm down”, “calm down”.  Mike never fell for it though as he is a lot cleverer than Dermott.  We did used to have some right laughs though, Me, Dermott, Wiley and Mark Halsey.  Mark Halsey was a riot.  He was forever playing tricks and practical jokes.

Anyway I digress, going back to the football, the truth is the decision is right and it is right because Mike Dean has said it’s right, so it doesn’t matter what the commentators, pundits, ex players, ex ref’s and the papers say.  Mike Dean is the ref and Mike Dean got it right, end of!!

Some are saying that the game and the fans enjoyment of the game is spoiled when players are sent off.  I say tough Bollocks, I thought Mike was quite kind on Arsenal and they were lucky not to end up with less than nine men.

costa

Costa looking sheepish after Saturday’s incident.

As for Diego Costa, yes Mike Dean has missed a trick there and should have sent him off.  Personally if I had been refereeing I would have been looking for any excuse to get send the oafish, Neanderthal looking freak off the pitch.

People may have their say so about this, but lets remember who is the most important person in this incident is.  It’s not the player, it’s not the manager and it certainly not the stupid fans.  It’s the ref, pure and simple.  I don’t pay my subscription for all the sports channels to watch the quality of the football I pay that money to watch the ref’s performance.

Well done Mike Dean it was a refereeing performance of the highest quality.  You done well mate as now they are all talking about you on a Monday morning and that is just how it should be.

Until the next time

Shut up!!

And get off my pitch!!

I’m the Ref!!

Leave a comment